2016 Wine Outlook – James Melendez

I am looking forward to a varied and colourful 2016 tasting.

San Francisco still a kingly capital of wine tours coming to the City.  The public places to taste are disappearing and are not being replaced.  The Exhibition Center at 9th and Brannon is a goner.  In this boom economy things that are disappearing and will be regretted later.  California’s wine tasting rules a la ABC (Alcohol Beverage Control) are certainly antiquated–even in 1933 they were antiquated back then as well.  Today’s producers and regions need venues to house tastings–Ft. Mason, I once called San Francisco’s wine centre has no more wine tasting (the reasons are consistent: price).   Ed Lee’s San Francisco is the not San Francisco I knew at least in terms of public spaces and his vision and scope are limited.  The Presidio is certainly picturesque and historic but the worst place to do a wine tasting–too small and never designed for wine tastings.

Even with all of the challenges San Francisco is a main stop for many wine events.  I won’t attend wine events in San Mateo like Family Winemakers or Rhone Rangers both are too far and seem to be when I have travel planned.    On occasion I will happily travel to Napa, Sonoma and this year I will be in Lodi–I haven’t been in a very long time.

So tasting wine is not just about attending events –it is also purposely seeking specific producers, wines, and regions.  I challenge myself each year to taste wine from all corners on the planet-this year there will be no exception.  I know I will taste a fair number of California wines; last year I had the best Spanish, Argentinian and Chilean wine tastings.  This year I hope to be tasting more wines from Italy, France, Germany, Austria, Georgia, Greece, Croatia, Hungary, and Canada.

I look at my compass and this year I am looking at strategically covering more regions but also tracking what I am tasting versus how I have mapped this out; making sure I complete this goal. This year more than ever is about balance, variation, uniqueness and representation.

I look forward to sharing with you my journey in 2016 and hearing from you as well.  Let’s stay connected.

Happy New Year!

***

¡Salud!

James

Demystifying Wine…One Bottle at a Time from all wine regions around the world.

Read more of my wine reviews:   WORDPRESS

© 2015 James Meléndez / James the Wine Guy— All Rights Reserved – for my original Content, logo, brand name, rating, rating graphic and award and designs of James the Wine Guy.

James the Wine Guy also on Facebook, Twitter and most major social medias.

Follow, subscribe, like, browse:

TWITTERFACEBOOKGOOGLE+VIMEOLINKEDFLICKRpinterestWordpressYOUTUBETUMBLR

 

Leave a Reply

