James the Wine Guy Value Creation, Marketing and Business Proposition 2018-2019

I wrote my first article on value proposition in 2016.  In doing so I thought it was a one-time article, however, I see it as way to talk about my experience and role as wine influencer, journalist, videographer, presenter, educator and wine business expert.  But I see this as a yearly statement.

I have worn quite a number of hats in the wine world and I certainly look to my experience as a national wine marketing manager at an off-premise wine retailer.  The wine retail operation had 290 stores in 25+ US state and several hundred million dollars in yearly sales. The role was a rich one offering insight and experience with the myriad of business, regulatory and compliance categories and complexities.

So I was not just a wine marketing manager it was that plus half a dozen more roles.  I utilized tools of business intelligence, viewed specific operational and sales metrics to clarify and position the retailer in the complex quilt of competitors.  

My role was to steward the wine retailer position in the authorship of wine and not just a retailer of wine.  Many off and on premise wine businesses throw the dice and see where our business will head OR even worse be a business that is a trend chaser.  Creating trends is a trap unto itself and is a vicious cycle trying to do better than the year better without creating a way of getting there.

Value creation is not just one thing but many things working in conjunction at one time.  Value is the end game but it is also the road map for any business or brand to work towards, creating KPI and always knowing where you are as a business.

My value proposition is a reminder and reinforce my scope, mission and vision.  I need to story what I do but also document what I do, can do and what the investment in me means.

There are other wine influences and I do seek to not be the same as everyone else–not a just because proposition but done without even thinking of my offering as being different.  I am passionate to show the difference or highlight the uniqueness of a producer or product.

When I get a wine sample and if I do decide to write it up or create a video – I do try to get as much mileage.  I don’t always write up or do a video of every sample I get.  But I do review many, many wines per year.

Snapshot of my social media presence:

Twitter 35,475 Followers – JamesTheWineGuy (I have other Twitter channels)
YouTube 1,512 Subscribers
Pinterest 915 Followers
Instagram 2,040 Followers
Facebook 500 Likes
LinkedIn 2,805
Blog 234 Blog Followers

****

James the Wine Guy’s Value Proposition 2016

Value and social media is a rare topic and I cannot recall seeing such an article before (though it probably exists somewhere).  Being a wine writer, journalist, videographer, and judge it makes me wonder why this isn’t a bigger topic. When I look at the traditional wine “bloggers” and other personalities I don’t see any of material on what each brand offers both reader and producer.  What do I give in response to my exposure to wine. I do receipt samples and I also purchase a fair number myself.

I do think producers who sample their product with writers/bloggers may expect a best return on their marketing dollar (or other currency).  I don’t think when I receipt a sample that it is to kick back, open up and pour away and just enjoy.  I do think there is an expectation of a review or at least a very minimum of a comment.  I like many wine writers or publications don’t always agree that every bottle receipted will culminate in a wine review either.  But I do believe that not all wine samples distributed are treated in the same manner and this gets back to value.  Do wine reviewers optimize the samples given?

First, I’ll begin why I may not review every single wine I get.  Some reasons: I have receipted a wine where the wine closure failed (rare but it does happen) and I of course notify sender.  Another reason is that I have a wine that is a mass market wine which I may review but most likely will not–the reason–simply there are plenty of reviews of well known brands.  I also might receipt a low quality wine that is not in my brand’s scope and I will not review. And I will not accept a private label brand for a wine retailer or supermarket. I do hope a wine can be much more available than at one retailer.

I hear from other wine writers where they are constantly asked by producers or PR people where are the reviews.  I do get this occasionally and often I have complete review and refer those individuals back to the media where the review is posted.  

Here is my value proposition:

  • Either a written or video review (possibly both – hard time find time to do both)
  • Post videos on my JamesTheWineGuy channel
    1. Classify in the specific categories (example for an Chianti Classico wine – place in Playlist: a) Italian wines b) Chianti c) Sangiovese
  • Utilise best practices for my YouTube channel
    1. These can and often change due to emphasis or de-emphasis of algorithm
  • Post videos on my Facebook like page
  • Share on Twitter, Pinterest, Tumblr, LinkedIn and other social medias
  • Asking my community to give a like and share the videos they see
  • Also engaging community about their thoughts on the wines I have reviewed
  • I also give fair and balanced reviews of all wines
  • Also, try to point consumer when they ask about the wine or point back to producer or retailer

I think it is important to give a “At a Glance” view of my value proposition as it is about demonstrating my brands contributions.   Any comments and questions, please post them or share on social media.

Santé,

James

James the Wine Guy

Demystifying Wine…One Bottle at a Time from all wine regions around the world.

© 2018 James Melendez / James the Wine Guy— All Rights Reserved – for my original Content, drawings, art work, graphs, photographs, logo, brand name, rating, rating, taxonomy, graphic and award and designs of James the Wine Guy.  James the Wine Guy is also on Facebook, Twitter and most major social medias.

Follow, subscribe, like, browse:

TWITTERFACEBOOKVIMEOLINKEDFLICKRpinterestWordpressYOUTUBE

About James Melendez

I love wine. I am passionate about the subject as well as art, music, lyric writing and poetry, history, sciences, organization management, and making things less complex I have been a former national wine marketing manager for a large off-premise food and wine retailer (280+ retail locations in 30 US States); the love for wine taught me the good practice of using the best methodologies to right side a business which unto itself is complex. Further complexity is wine. Wine simple to enjoy and yet profoundly complex because of many factors: Many grape varieties States of wine: sparkling, still and fortified wines Vintage Blends Regions/AVAs/DOCs etc. Many producer styles Many producers Limited supply Limited and often restricted distribution My experience is still a lot of intimidation with respect to wine. Wine means many things to many people; status, fear, success, ‘you’ve arrived’, enjoyment, good times, tradition and even ceremony. I have consulted with wine producers and association. I have spoken on Wine and Social Media, Wine and Video and The Business of Wine in conferences in the United States and Europe. Beer and spirits do have the same dynamics–there are many producers but compared to wine there is no other consumer product like it. I have been writing about since November 2006 on my site and I have over 3,000 wine videos on my YouTube channel talking about general wine subject matter as well as specific educational topics on wine and reviews. I have been a wine judge and have traveled to many wine countries in the new and old world. Wine has taken me to great places. Life is tough for most of us and it is nice to celebrate life with those near and even far. What wine is really about is sitting around a table with family and friends raising your wine glass and saying—to life! I love to write about travel, food, technology and business–please subscribe! Santé, *** A plethora of wine reviews from wines regions around the world. Read more of my wine reviews:jamesthewineguy.wordpress.com © 2022, 2020, 2018, 2017, 2010 James P. Melendez – All Rights Reserved.
This entry was posted in James the Wine Guy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.