In San Francisco “Do You Want a Bag” has replaced the Greeting “Hello” – James

San Francisco has has a bag charge ordinance since 2013 and ever since the greetings at any store checkout has never been the same.  I thought well all I have to do was to have a bag ready for the sales associate to take notice and so that perhaps a normal exchange could take place….. wrong.

I was in Target in the FinDi in San Francisco and had a bag ready to go but the associate shuffled through the bag, touched it and asked “do you want a bag” a bit too predictable.  I hear from people saying that San Francisco is amazing from those visiting.  I always say try living in this terribly expensive and rather unfriendly town.  Even before the bag ordinance you might find it difficult to get a hello in the past and today–another reason to not say hello.  When I travel I find people to be friendly everywhere when compared to San Franciscans.  No matter what there is always a 49er mindset in the City.

If you look at the ordinance it seems like it is filled with great intentions.  But I ask why the need to pay 10 cents per bag?  I do not know what the intention is and the need to charge.  I think what I have seen is that the bags people buy are not recycled, break often, and I see on the street.  I question if the bag ordinance is truly environmentally friendly and that if we have taken enough plastic off the street so to speak–I think it may be relative in the long run.

Don’t be surprised when shopping in San Francisco you are not greeted but asked “do you want a bag.”

Santé,

James

James the Wine Guy

Demystifying Wine…One Bottle at a Time from all wine regions around the world.

Wines courtesy of producer.

© 2017 James Melendez / James the Wine Guy— All Rights Reserved – for my original Content, logo, brand name, rating, rating graphic and award and designs of James the Wine GuyJames the Wine Guy also on Facebook, Twitter and most major social medias.

Follow, subscribe, like, browse:

TWITTERFACEBOOKGOOGLE+VIMEOLINKEDFLICKRpinterestWordpressYOUTUBETUMBLR

About James Melendez

I love wine and have had the privilege of working in the wine trade as a senior national wine marketing manager for a wine, food and home goods retailer in 30+ US States. I executed into making wine experiential and made 'wines of the world' programme work in a highly regulated framework for a successful business proposition. My "wine" site also incorporates those categories intimately involved with wine such as food, travel and lifestyle. This site incorporates my many dimensions of interest. I love to review and also talk about many aspects of wine. I have been privileged to visit many wine countries and find them enthralling no matter how many times I visit. I love all aspects of wine: viticulture, history, winemaking, brand development, wine regions and many more aspects. This is a living tradition that needs documentation, education, reporting and reviewing. Do I have favourite varieties and styles? I love so many varieties and often it is situational and yet there are time honoured wines that I anticipate and I am passionate about. I like all colours of wine and all styles. I have had a mad passionate affair with sparkling wines and they are always top of mind. Wine nourishes our soul and is the key to connecting with other people at our dinner table. Salute, James © 2014, 2017 James Meléndez / James the Wine Guy— All Rights Reserved – for my original Content, logo, brand name, rating, rating graphic and award and designs of James the Wine Guy. James the Wine Guy also on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, LinkedIn, and other social medias.
This entry was posted in San Francisco, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In San Francisco “Do You Want a Bag” has replaced the Greeting “Hello” – James

  1. okiewinegirl2015 says:

    Hi James! Love beautiful San Francisco but the ‘bag’ issue is what happens when good intentions replace common sense.

Leave a Reply

