Wine Vlogging is A Tough Job – James Melendez

Vlogging is a tough job.  Not complaining because I choose to do it. I think sometimes I am made more human about taking on the back end of what I do. I did a video in response to a recent comment I had on my wine YouTube Channel – ‘You Don’t Seem To Dislike Any Wines You Taste’ – Episode #2419 James Melendez 

The comment was as I take it a positive one overall.  Some ideas for future videos and a large part of the comment was that all of my reviews are positive.  I did explain and I will talk a bit here.  Creating video content is not my only job.  Though it is another job that is one where I don’t get paid–I have only monetized a few video–especially those that I have paid for the wines out of my own pocket.

Not only do I have limited time–I just don’t have time to drink or review mediocre or even bad wines.  I guess I could as a one-timer.  In general, my tasting table is bursting with so many amazing wines — I would rather take my time to review good to great wines.  I also have limitation on what I won’t review.  And like any other wine reviewer I do not promise to review every bottle I get.

I have tried different approaches to reviewing wine since I have such limited time such as on occasion do a single bottle review for a special wine.  I do think a weekly round up might help–a longer show but something that I can do in a weekly format.  I am still toying with this ideas.  Ultimately when I have done a toe deep instead of optimizing my time I end up spending more time.  Editing is essential especially for today’s modern audience.  I had a comment that I edit too much.  In the old days I would often edit during the take – i.e. keep re-recording until it was without flaw—so so very time consuming.  I decided to take a practice that many YouTube producers do today and that is to edit.  I have to edit–it would be unwatchable if I did not.

I wish writing about wine and being a reviewer was my full time job–I think even if I had the opportunity I would still struggle for time but less so than today.

I love the video media and unlike Casey Neistat giving up on his highly successful daily vlog as well as Gary Vee’s wine show to me is a dis-satisfaction with YouTube and video.  I think Casey’s daily vlog and this was his living can be exhausting but I think the normal cadence is a weekly one.  Gary, I speculate gave up on wine and video on YouTube because the click rate is modest at best.  I think it is important for a producer like myself to promote videos that I publish.  I also think it is the fine art of cultivating an audience.  “Build it and they might come promote it and you are better offer than my doing nothing.”  Doing nothing for video’s on YouTube is a great way to collect dust.  I think that the wine category is special and it requires diligence and nurturing.  I also think that wine producers, public relations groups and others should also be there to promote what is published about their wines on YouTube and elsewhere.

I have been dissatisfied if a producer doesn’t given an acknowledgement.  A like a retweet even a follow.  I do think that many producers are no always engaged in their social media backyard.  This is a backyard like any other that requires cultivation and the investment of time and beyond that there is no additional cost.

I have been trying to pair down the number I produce.  I have to in order to get to many other content demands I have to fulfill.

I would like your comments and questions.

Thank you and Santé,

James

James the Wine Guy

Demystifying Wine…One Bottle at a Time from all wine regions around the world.

© 2016 James Melendez / James the Wine Guy— All Rights Reserved – for my original Content, logo, brand name, rating, rating graphic and award and designs of James the Wine Guy.

I do not own the image from the movie Pretty Women – Touchstone Pictures Silver Screen Partners IV.

James the Wine Guy also on Facebook, Twitter and most major social medias.

Follow, subscribe, like, browse:

TWITTERFACEBOOKGOOGLE+VIMEOLINKEDFLICKRpinterestWordpressYOUTUBETUMBLR

About James Melendez

I have two blogs on this descriptor page--I use to be able to make separate. My fragrance blog is to express my thoughts on fragrance. A passion in addition to wine. I think it is a stellar component to the senses and that which I am in love with. I hope you like both blogs. My "wine" blog also incorporates those categories intimately involved - wine, food, travel and lifestyle. We all need food and water to survive but we need wine to nourish our soul. My favourite varietals are Pinot Noir, Nebbiolo, Grenache, Syrah-Shiraz.. for my red wines. And I often circle back to these varieties and sometimes they are my home varieties. The journey of wine is an historical footnote also marked by viti-viniculture and artistry that makes this beverage a living one. I have worked professionally in the wine trade and have loved all aspects; marketing, history, science and art of wine. © 2014 James Meléndez / James the Wine Guy— All Rights Reserved – for my original Content, logo, brand name, rating, rating graphic and award and designs of James the Wine Guy. James the Wine Guy also on Facebook, Twitter and most major social medias.
This entry was posted in Videos, vlog, Vloggers, Vlogging. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

