Is there an Ideal Colour for Rosé? James Melendez

Rose

Is there an Ideal Colour for Rosé?

Well…. that is two questions:

Is there an ideal colour for Rosé: NO

Is there an idealised colour for Rosé: YES

I’ll start with the yes, first and foremost I do not believe there is one correct colour.  So many people get wrapped around a tree when they believe that a Provence coloration is the perfect and ideal colour.  That without the Provence pigment all Rosés are less than ideal.  Idealise other things that are worthy of it: world peace, cures for diseases and sensible work environments and great jobs to name a few.  Dramatic?  Maybe.  But many people believe in only one stylized colour–the very pale pink.

Why is this of concern or at least note?  Last month I talked with a large number of wine importers and distributors and a common theme was buying Rosé and concern of selling deeper hued Rosé.  I asked what the problems were with darker hues and it was that anything too deep in colour doesn’t sell.  Now the importers and distributors were not just from the US but also all around Europe.

I thought why should one style influence other producers around the world.  I think many consumers are seeking dry Rosé and I do think many writers and reviewers have over time had a love affair with Provence Rosé hence the influence does rub off.

****

Now onto the raison d’etre for this article: Is there an ideal colour for Rosé: NO

I do prefer only dry Rosé – though I have seen pallet of the sweet pink stuff at a warehouse retailer near you.  I do think thoughtful producers are giving us good and sometimes great dry Rosé wines both sparkling and still.  I don’t get hung up nor should you on colour alone.  In fact, I love to taste multiples of the same variety Rosé and I can see that skin contact and hence the colour itself is affected–and there is an influence to the characterisation.  I do love a mid-hue colour that I call cathedral stained glass window.  And I also must declare that, of course, I love Provence Rosé – I never put down one style in place of another–I see beauty in many wine styles sans sweet wines when they are not dessert wines.

I do think wine makers someday will be freer to make the colour of Rosé the colour they want it to be and that wine importers/distributors won’t hesitate to make a buy.  I hope this article encourages you to try different hues of Rosé and you will be instrumental in that some day this won’t even be a topic.

Until then enjoy your Rosé the way you want to enjoy them.

Salute!

James

Demystifying Wine…One Bottle at a Time from all wine regions around the world.

Read more of my wine reviews:   WORDPRESS

© 2016 James Melendez / James the Wine Guy— All Rights Reserved – for my original content, logo, brand name, rating, rating graphic and award and designs of James the Wine Guy and photographs.   If you have any questions or comments please let me know.

James the Wine Guy also on Facebook, Twitter and most major social medias.

Follow, subscribe, like, browse:

TWITTERFACEBOOKGOOGLE+VIMEOLINKEDFLICKRpinterestWordpressYOUTUBETUMBLR

About James Melendez

I love wine and have had the privilege of working in the wine trade as a senior national wine marketing manager for a wine, food and home goods retailer in 30+ US States. I executed into making wine experiential and made 'wines of the world' programme work in a highly regulated framework for a successful business proposition. My "wine" site also incorporates those categories intimately involved with wine such as food, travel and lifestyle. This site incorporates my many dimensions of interest. I love to review and also talk about many aspects of wine. I have been privileged to visit many wine countries and find them enthralling no matter how many times I visit. I love all aspects of wine: viticulture, history, winemaking, brand development, wine regions and many more aspects. This is a living tradition that needs documentation, education, reporting and reviewing. Do I have favourite varieties and styles? I love so many varieties and often it is situational and yet there are time honoured wines that I anticipate and I am passionate about. I like all colours of wine and all styles. I have had a mad passionate affair with sparkling wines and they are always top of mind. Wine nourishes our soul and is the key to connecting with other people at our dinner table. Salute, James © 2014, 2017 James Meléndez / James the Wine Guy— All Rights Reserved – for my original Content, logo, brand name, rating, rating graphic and award and designs of James the Wine Guy. James the Wine Guy also on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, LinkedIn, and other social medias.
This entry was posted in Rosé. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

