There are Simply Too Many Wine ‘Days’ – James Melendez

World Wide Wine Day Rev

There are simply too many wine days–the wine days I speak of days marking Tempranillo, Cabernet, Sauvignon Blanc, Zinfandel etc.  I am pro wine and for wine promotion.  I am for all of the organising bodies who have developed each of the days.  And I still think there are too many “days of” celebrations.

Not only are there too many wine days there are too many promotional product days from donuts to oysters to books from the known to the obscure.   I am a fan of Tempranillo, Cabernet Sauvignon, Sauvignon Blanc, Albariño, Grenache, Malbec, Merlot, and Zinfandel (too name a few) and I am not picking on this beautiful varieties.  I created World Wide Wine day to recognise all varieties as a more inclusive “Day of” celebration.  I started this day in 2011 for each July 1.  The idea was to celebrate and focus on wine; all varieties, all regions and all styles–July 1 is a way to look back and to look forward–it is the middle of the year.  I thought there was potential but after half a decade I know there is little interest.  I do not think there is a tipping point.  I wonder if the varieties I just mentioned have the traction they want?  I would say probably not.  I think there is a severe fatigue on “Day of” celebration are so overwhelmed with a day for everything.  And with wine–as I saw on Twitter someone said “Isn’t every day wine day.”  I think there is merit to that comment.  I think it can be a day to remind someone about say Albariño but it may not necessarily make me open a bottle on this day–I may open on another day.  I also think there are many varieties that are wondrous and will never have their day: Nebbiolo, Negroamaro, Aglianco, St. Laurent, or Schioppettino amongst others.

My page on Facebook has a small “like” base of 500+ and is gaining at a higher rate than my own presence on Facebook (James the Wine Guy).  But I do expect that my own presence will eclipse World Wide Wine day at some point.

I think “days of” have a limited appeal and marketability–I don’t detract and on occasion I’ll open up a bottle on those days especially if I have a sample.  I do think thought that every day is a wine day.  So open up a bottle of what you want to open.

Salute,

James

Demystifying Wine…One Bottle at a Time from all wine regions around the world.

Read more of my wine reviews:   WORDPRESS

© 2016 James Melendez / James the Wine Guy— All Rights Reserved – for my original content, logo, brand name, rating, rating graphic and award and designs of James the Wine Guy and photographs.   If you have any questions or comments please let me know.

James the Wine Guy also on Facebook, Twitter and most major social medias.

Follow, subscribe, like, browse:

TWITTERFACEBOOKGOOGLE+VIMEOLINKEDFLICKRpinterestWordpressYOUTUBETUMBLR

Leave a Reply

