526 Million Reasons PA House Bill 466 was Vetoed

Prohibition (or the continuous effect of post-prohibition) is still alive and kicking in Pennsylvania and especially with Governor Tom Wolf at the helm.  Governor Wolf vetoed House Bill 466 because as it says on his website “In the most recent case of another state that pursued the outright privatization of liquor sales, consumers saw higher prices and less selection.”  I am not so sure this governor or even a governor is completely concerned about wine, beer and spirits pricing for their citizens.  And I am not sure any governor cares about their public have a lesser selection.  Living in California where private off-premise establishments have demonstrated a considerable assortment in that if you don’t find what you are seeking at one retailer might be available at another. And California is not the only US state to have privately run stores where competition is thriving and is the norm.  Competition is quite effective in keeping pricing down and selection optimized.  State run stores quite often only feature larger producers–bowing only slightly to smaller producers to show a fuller assortment but truly don’t have the interest or call to reach to a larger set of smaller producers.

I remember one memorable meal I had in Philadelphia only a couple of years ago.  I wanted to sit down and enjoy a nice lunch but when I asked for a glass of wine I was pointed to go to that corner and order from the state run store.  So going over to the state run store to order a 375 ml bottle there was very little choice–I could only order by the bottle not by the glass.  I didn’t want a whole bottle 750 ml so my choice was drastically limited and the awkwardness of simultaneously ordering my food and then stepping away from my table to get my wine was something I contemplated giving up and chalking it up to ‘only in Pennsylvania’.

Looking at Governor Tom Wolf’s statement I looked at Washington state because that is his reference point; when Washington privatized liquor sales it also took a sharp northerly turn as it relates to liquor taxes (some of the highest in the US and Washington has traditionally always has had a very high general sales tax).  But I looked at one particular product which shows two things–great variability in pricing across each of the fifty states but also shows great competitive forces especially during holiday times.  Veuve Clicquot both a darling and demon for the off-premise community–easy(ier) to sell than most Champagnes (often sells itself whereas another brand perhaps lesser known takes a greater effort to hand sell) a demon because the competitive forces especially during holiday time drag margins way down–sometimes to low single digits. Pricing for Cliquot at state run stores in Pennsylvania that I saw on their website is $49.99 and in Arizona at Total Wine is $41.97 (same size) some 16% percent cheaper in Arizona.

Governor Wolf also mentions “It makes bad business sense for the Commonwealth and consumers to sell off an asset, especially before maximizing its value” Does this mean expansion of Pennsylvania’s chain of stores? Drive higher margins?  Creating operational efficiencies and/or increasing share of market pie for liquor sales in Pennsylvania?   There is very little clarity to this statement–it would nice to know what Wolf means by this.  Ultimately, Governor Wolf has $526 million reasons (2014 net profit from the Commonwealth’s wine and spirits retail empire)  to never privatize liquor in Pennsyvlania.  While the legislature agreed to privatization Wolf did not.  I am not sure there will be a time in the future that everything aligns for this this to ever happen in the Commonwealth.  There is only a great disincentive to privatize and Pennsylvania does not have the willpower to kick the bottle.

Salud!

Demystifying Wine…One Bottle at a Time from all wine regions around the world.

Read more of my wine reviews:   WORDPRESS

© 2015 James Meléndez / James the Wine Guy— All Rights Reserved – for my original Content, logo, brand name, rating, rating graphic and award and designs of James the Wine Guy.

James the Wine Guy also on Facebook, Twitter and most major social medias.

Follow, subscribe, like, browse:

TWITTERFACEBOOKGOOGLE+VIMEOLINKEDFLICKRpinterestWordpressYOUTUBETUMBLR

About James Melendez

I have two blogs on this descriptor page--I use to be able to make separate. My fragrance blog is to express my thoughts on fragrance. A passion in addition to wine. I think it is a stellar component to the senses and that which I am in love with. I hope you like both blogs. My "wine" blog also incorporates those categories intimately involved - wine, food, travel and lifestyle. We all need food and water to survive but we need wine to nourish our soul. My favourite varietals are Pinot Noir, Nebbiolo, Grenache, Syrah-Shiraz.. for my red wines. And I often circle back to these varieties and sometimes they are my home varieties. The journey of wine is an historical footnote also marked by viti-viniculture and artistry that makes this beverage a living one. I have worked professionally in the wine trade and have loved all aspects; marketing, history, science and art of wine. © 2014 James Meléndez / James the Wine Guy— All Rights Reserved – for my original Content, logo, brand name, rating, rating graphic and award and designs of James the Wine Guy. James the Wine Guy also on Facebook, Twitter and most major social medias.
This entry was posted in Pennsylvania. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 526 Million Reasons PA House Bill 466 was Vetoed

  1. I “liked” the post even though the status of privitization in the Commonwealth is on its death bed once more. For some reason, the battle has become a political one: Republicans are for privitization, Democrats are opposed. Two years ago we had all three branches controlled by Republicans, but due to the fact that the governor at the time was a certifiable moron, it never got through.

    Now, with a Democrat as governor, there is little to no chance of privitzation. While the revenue from the woefully inadequate state stores (the PLCB) is likely a factor, the bigger factor is the political aspect. Democrats have long resisted privitization largely due to the fact that the PLCB employees are unionized. Eliminating the stores would eliminate between 6-10K union jobs. They would never be hired by the private sector since the VAST majority of them know very little about wine and even less about customer service.

    I have long stopped shopping at the PLCB other than the occasional sale because I have better options online. Many more retailers and wineries realize that the Commonwealth’s position on prohibiting out of state wine purchases is unconstitutional and would never hold up to a challenge.

    Still, there are a host of people that will not ship to the state and that for me is the most frustrating–even wineries that want to send me samples for review will not do so for fear of provoking the big bad PLCB.

    While I continue to rail against the mis-oenophilistic (yeah, I just made that word up) policies of the Commonwealth, I have come to realize that it will not change in the near future and likely not in my lifetime.

Leave a Reply

