Variety…Varietal – James Melendez / James the Wine Guy

Trust me on this one… I am not going to rant about when variety or varietal should or should not be used.  I recently saw an online article on how either word should be used–it was a bit pedantic—not it was absolutely pedantic.  I have seen this particular writer rant to the point where it induces a great level of ennui or sleepiness in me.  I don’t make it my life’s mission to correct people on language usage.  When I see an article about this person’s yearly or twice yearly rants and how it gets indexed in a particular wine new email citation–I wonder why it is called out.

I don’t cite who this person is as I prefer to not give this particular person’s more web traffic.  I can always use more traffic.  If I weigh out my total usage of the words “variety” and “varietal” I am probably a heavy user of variety on at least a 90% basis; I might use the word cultivar before varietal and that is not because of this particular writer but that is just my usage.  I just like to say variety.  I think some people view varietal as more specific to wine than variety.  English is a flexible language that may adjust how it deals with the usage of this word–or maybe not.

Sweet and short as I have more important things to do… I promise–more interesting articles are in the works!

¡Salud!

– James Melendez

***

Demystifying Wine…One Bottle at a Time from all wine regions around the world.

© 2014 James Meléndez / James the Wine Guy— All Rights Reserved – for my original Content, logo, brand name, rating, rating graphic and award and designs of James the Wine Guy.

James the Wine Guy also on Facebook, Twitter and most major social medias.

Follow, subscribe, like, browse:

TWITTERFACEBOOKGOOGLE+VIMEOLINKEDFLICKRpinterestWordpressYOUTUBETUMBLR

Leave a Reply

