Bott Wine: Excellence of a Tokaj Hungary Wine Producer – James Meléndez

I wanted to release this article sooner but a large part of this year I was studying cultivars and since I couldn’t download a table of all wine grape cultivars I had to create my own.  This endeavor took a very long time and I can see how I decreased my output of material for a period of time.  I have always thought it is my duty as a wine writer to know all of the cultivars.   The cultivar estimate of 10,000 seemed to be too even and I wondered if it was correct.  So far and I am still analyzing the results is that number of cultivars is north of 10,300 and there are over 31,000 synonyms (the estimate I had seen previously was 25,000).  I feel a sense of relief and more than relief a sense of excitement of knowing some baseline information on cultivars.  I drilled down further in my data set found there are at least 282 Hungarian cultivars and this number could be revised based on further analysis of my data set.  I feel a more profound sense of the Hungarian wine experience–282 Hungarian cultivars is not published anywhere.  It felt so special to be close to this knowledge.  The Hungarian wine experience is a long tradition with probably many more varieties than most people might suspect.

****

There are moments of tasting great food and wine where that experience is transcendental.  Judit & Jozef Bodó visited San Francisco (3-March-2013) sharing their wines with great Hungarian food.  The Bodó’s produce Furmint and Hárslevelű wines.  While Hungarian wines paired with Hungarian food is a fantastic experience-I urge you to think broadly with high quality and beautiful signatures of Tokaj wines that there are many cuisine styles that can be beautiful paired with Hungarian wines.  While this dinner was optimum world class Hungarian food in San Francisco—yes–world and California class.  Local products mainly, however, Hungarian paprika was required of course.  This dinner made a great impression upon me as it was one part great food (Bar Tartine), one part great wine (Botts) and the environment and timing made for a lock in time of me always recalling this meal.

Pair Bott’s wines with Bar Tartine’s Hungarian fare prepared by Nicolaus Balla was a match made in heaven.  The Bodó’s wines were expressive and superbly crafted; not stealing the show but in harmony with the cuisine.  Their vineyard site is a superb location for Furmint and Hárslevelű– traditional varities in Tokaj.  The Bott Furmint is a clear and exciting representation of acidity, floral-spice characteristics with a variety of essences of citrus notes; peeled, zested and sliced.  The Hárslevelű leaving an indelible impression; dry wine with essence of wild flower honey, freshly picked flowers, Cardamom and pear and green melon notes.  Each variety (Furmint and Hárslevelű) cannot be mistaken for any variety other than what it is.

Menu - Bar Tartine Bott Winery Dinner

Menu – Bar Tartine Bott Winery Dinner

Gombasaláta

Gombasaláta

I sat next to Judit and it was a great way to learn about her and her husband’s winery.  There was an absolute at-ease and yet excitement to talk about their little corner of central Europe.  Tired–yes, a long flight–which I always too get sleepier going west than east. I was completely amazed at Judit and Jozef’s energy level.   Judit and Jozef Bodó were excited to talk about their experience in Hungary and their new found experience and first time being in the US.  While San Francisco might be many kilometers away Bott’s wines exemplify high attention to detail, quality and artistic impression.  San Francisco’s love for great cuisine commands excellence in wines from all regions on the planet. I am so glad Bott wines are available here in San Francisco and equally importantly to hear from the winemaker of their great love of their art form.  Be sure to pick up both Bott wines and pair with you next meal (and these wines can be paired with a large array of cuisine styles).

Judit Bodó - Bott's Winery winemaker

Judit Bodó – Bott’s Winery winemaker

***

Blue Danube Wines – importer of Bott wines:

http://www.bluedanubewine.com/winery/bott/

¡Salud!

http://ww w.jamesthewineguy.com

***

Demystifying Wine…One Bottle at a Time from all wine regions around the world.

Read more of my wine reviews:   WORDPRESS

© 2013 James Meléndez / James the Wine Guy— All Rights Reserved – for my original Content, logo, brand name, rating, rating graphic and award and designs of James the Wine Guy.

James the Wine Guy also on Facebook, Twitter and most major social medias.

Follow, subscribe, like, browse:

TWITTERFACEBOOKGOOGLE+VIMEOLINKEDFLICKRpinterestWordpressYOUTUBETUMBLR

About James Melendez

I love wine and have had the privilege of working in the wine trade as a senior national wine marketing manager for a wine, food and home goods retailer in 30+ US States. I executed into making wine experiential and made 'wines of the world' programme work in a highly regulated framework for a successful business proposition. My "wine" site also incorporates those categories intimately involved with wine such as food, travel and lifestyle. This site incorporates my many dimensions of interest. I love to review and also talk about many aspects of wine. I have been privileged to visit many wine countries and find them enthralling no matter how many times I visit. I love all aspects of wine: viticulture, history, winemaking, brand development, wine regions and many more aspects. This is a living tradition that needs documentation, education, reporting and reviewing. Do I have favourite varieties and styles? I love so many varieties and often it is situational and yet there are time honoured wines that I anticipate and I am passionate about. I like all colours of wine and all styles. I have had a mad passionate affair with sparkling wines and they are always top of mind. Wine nourishes our soul and is the key to connecting with other people at our dinner table. Salute, James © 2014, 2017 James Meléndez / James the Wine Guy— All Rights Reserved – for my original Content, logo, brand name, rating, rating graphic and award and designs of James the Wine Guy. James the Wine Guy also on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, LinkedIn, and other social medias.
This entry was posted in Furmint, Hárslevelű, Hungary. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

