Wine & Social Media…It’s What We Have Been Waiting For – James Melendez / James the Wine Guy

Social Media & Wine

http://www.slideshare.net/jamesthewineguy/wine-social-media

I recently posted this presentation I gave in Rioja, Spain a couple of years ago.  And with the advent of Slideshare.com it is easier to share presentations.  Better to have a second life that just a one and only run.  An active voice to accompany this presentation would be helpful to give context.

I still believe in the title: Wine & Social Media: It’s What We Have Been Waiting For.  We live in remarkable times–no better time for the best quality, great artistic impression, and the best choices in wine ever.  Top this with a way to talk about great wine we have social media.  Without social media there was no way to talk about wine without paying for it.  Social media allows for immediacy and instant connection with a consuming base and for consumer to have immediacy with their favourite labels and to make discovery of new ones too.

When I gave this talk at Rioja Forum I asked for a show of hands to see how many people had a Facebook account (the audience was the wine trade) almost everyone raised their hand.  I then asked the same about Twitter and only a small number of hands went up.  My research into the subject matter helped to uncover a compelling story about Twitter.  Twitter then and now has considerable stickiness–that is Twitter and wine is a particularly active community of wine interested people.  Twitter unlike Facebook is open–you don’t need an account to view activity.  But if you don’t have a Facebook account you won’t be able to see any of the Like pages.

From a vantage point of time–who really has time to go and see even a small number of wine brand pages?   Twitter on the other hand is simple to use, view and see a lot of things.  Developing one’s presence on Twitter is a great way to have a dialogue with not just people you know but also people whom you don’t know.  Twitter is the truest of social media’s virtual hand shake that is always on.

I do advocate for a Twitter presence for all brands.  The presence also needs to be backed by being active in your Twitter handle.  Twitter allows for an easy way to link websites, full articles, video and pictures.

I am also a big believer in video–another way of adding colour to your social media presence.   I do believe that the YouTube, Vimeo and other video platforms have not been fully engaged by wine consumer or wine interested public.  I have spoken in my wine videos that many people don’t expect to find their favourite wine labels has wine video content they are seeking.  The wine category unlike almost any other category is quite large in terms number of producers, vintages, and wines produced.

The richness of Twitter is to give colour to where people are located,  how active they are, how many followers as well as how many people followed them and you can also find other data points.  I did find it very interesting in my research that the top Twitter wine cities in the world were:

  1. San Francisco
  2. New York
  3. Napa
  4. Sonoma
  5. Los Angeles
  6. Seattle
  7. Chicago
  8. London
  9. Vancouver
  10. Toronto

I would expect this list would perhaps have a few change outs but would remain very similar today.

I hope at some point I can update some of the metrics I captured and think a few cities would fall out and other fall right in.

¡Salud!

http://ww w.jamesthewineguy.com

***

Demystifying Wine…One Bottle at a Time from all wine regions around the world.

Read more of my wine reviews:  

© 2013 James Meléndez / James the Wine Guy— All Rights Reserved – for my original Content, logo, brand name, rating, rating graphic and award and designs of James the Wine Guy.

James the Wine Guy also on Facebook, Twitter and most major social medias.

Follow, subscribe, like, browse:

TWITTERFACEBOOKGOOGLE+VIMEOLINKEDFLICKRYOUTUBETUMBLR

About James Melendez

I have two blogs on this descriptor page--I use to be able to make separate. My fragrance blog is to express my thoughts on fragrance. A passion in addition to wine. I think it is a stellar component to the senses and that which I am in love with. I hope you like both blogs. My "wine" blog also incorporates those categories intimately involved - wine, food, travel and lifestyle. We all need food and water to survive but we need wine to nourish our soul. My favourite varietals are Pinot Noir, Nebbiolo, Grenache, Syrah-Shiraz.. for my red wines. And I often circle back to these varieties and sometimes they are my home varieties. The journey of wine is an historical footnote also marked by viti-viniculture and artistry that makes this beverage a living one. I have worked professionally in the wine trade and have loved all aspects; marketing, history, science and art of wine. © 2014 James Meléndez / James the Wine Guy— All Rights Reserved – for my original Content, logo, brand name, rating, rating graphic and award and designs of James the Wine Guy. James the Wine Guy also on Facebook, Twitter and most major social medias.
This entry was posted in Rioja, Study, Twitter. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

