Derek Rohlffs and Bravium Wines – Wines from Passion – James Meléndez / James the Wine Guy

In my vocation I meet a lot of people; wine producers, fans and everyone in between.  And I am privileged to meet so many exceptionally talented and friendly winemakers.  This year (2012), I met Derek Rohlffs founder and proprietor of Bravium wines.  Bravium a Latin word meaning prize / reward.   Derek produces wines from a variety of regions seeking quality and finishing with his winemaker inputs for both an optimum and well priced set of wines.

Derek has been making for over a decade and the great depth and experience making wines from Chardonnay, Syrah, Cabernet Sauvignon, Petite Sirah to his white and red blends.  I have tasted through many of wines and found them to not just be high on the quality setting but a great homage to the region he sources from.  Derek is based in San Francisco’s Treasure Island and in many ways–a great symbol of assembly and centeredness.  Being front and center of the many wine countries San Francisco is at the crossroads of Northern California wine countries: North, East and South.  The urban winemaking experience is both new and old–and a great roots back to what San Francisco was doing before, during and now.  While Prohibition was terribly destructive in San Francisco and certain areas of California wine grape production continued via familial and sacramental allowances.  The urban winemaking phenomenon is important as it bring that wine country experience to the City.  Urban winemaking allows for a quicker access to have that experience without having to travel far.

I am including my wine reviews in this story for you to see and hear about the Bravium wines I tasted this year.  I also am including an interview with Derek–actually my first interview of a winemaker or anyone.  Derek’s brand is sterling and comes through as a great representation of his heart and soul in winemaking and philanthropy.  Though a small producer Derek is also about giving back and created “Sip and Give.”  His philanthropy is an open book on his website and asks visitors to vote for a few selected charities–take a look and a vote–you can see a large number of people voting.

I hope you like the videos in addition to this very brief posting.  To seek out Bravium wines go to http://bravium.com/.  And I look forward to tasting Bravium wines now and for a long time to come.

¡Salud!

http://www.jamesthewineguy.com

***

Demystifying Wine…One Bottle at a Time from all wine regions around the world.

Read more of my wine reviews:

© 2012 James Meléndez / Jaime Patricio Meléndez / James the Wine Guy— All Rights Reserved. James the Wine Guy also on Facebook, Twitter and most major social medias.

Follow, subscribe, like, browse:             

About James Melendez

I love wine and have had the privilege of working in the wine trade as a senior national wine marketing manager for a wine, food and home goods retailer in 30+ US States. I executed into making wine experiential and made 'wines of the world' programme work in a highly regulated framework for a successful business proposition. My "wine" site also incorporates those categories intimately involved with wine such as food, travel and lifestyle. This site incorporates my many dimensions of interest. I love to review and also talk about many aspects of wine. I have been privileged to visit many wine countries and find them enthralling no matter how many times I visit. I love all aspects of wine: viticulture, history, winemaking, brand development, wine regions and many more aspects. This is a living tradition that needs documentation, education, reporting and reviewing. Do I have favourite varieties and styles? I love so many varieties and often it is situational and yet there are time honoured wines that I anticipate and I am passionate about. I like all colours of wine and all styles. I have had a mad passionate affair with sparkling wines and they are always top of mind. Wine nourishes our soul and is the key to connecting with other people at our dinner table. Salute, James © 2014, 2017 James Meléndez / James the Wine Guy— All Rights Reserved – for my original Content, logo, brand name, rating, rating graphic and award and designs of James the Wine Guy. James the Wine Guy also on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, LinkedIn, and other social medias.
This entry was posted in California. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

