Call for More Wines to Review – James Meléndez / James the Wine Guy

My recent story on Metrics Review of My Video Reviews has certainly helped me to hone in on what I am still need to do with respect to video reviews. I do believe surface has yet to be scratched for videos– and I know there is certainly doubt about that–and yes I do know of someone who gave up at a 1,000 and yet I know someone else who has gone on to do 1,100.

At some point, wine reviews will be discovered to a larger degree than they are today. I am amazed and sometimes disappointed in click rates and yet there is not always a sensible or rational reason. After all–wine is a very emotional subject. Look at how many people defend or offend with ease–that is to say–it is easy to do without trying. Yes, of course, some people mean to be offensive and yet I believe many do not. It is how one might take a review, thought or opinion.
Wine is packed with points of excitement and yet while I always say wine is both complex and simple all at once– I can compare wine videos to YouTube “how to” videos–once an obscure content now it is a primary go to for many people seeking answers. Try a simple exercise: in your preferred search engine type in “how to tie a tie” and the easiest solutions will be found in the video channels. You can see a demonstrative example of what you are seeking solution.

Wine is no different–and in the era of many online written words about wine it is hard to follow the content leader who might be nearest and dearest to you. While some have proclaimed – and overly dramatically so “the wine writer is dead.” There are many content leaders in wine and will continue to show this is still the case. Content leaders can be wine writers and yet add voice, emotion, and motion to wine content…. what a compelling statement–as long as content is well spoken, accurate, and that the personality is likeable and relatable. After all emotion is a connect that we can be either attracted to or not. The written word may not be the stopping point for wine reviews and an additional touch point is needed..

With that being said–I have so many more wine reviews to complete. And I notice that producing them does take more time than what is published–but for me has become an enjoyable thing. I do see a need to continue to publish wine videos.

I Tweet out for sources for wines in the US and often times I get responses and yet I don’t think I always make the necessary connection–hence this article as it is posted and is a placeholder.

I am seeking wines from for my video reviews:

  • Peru
  • Lebanon
  • Jordan
  • Turkey
  • Armenia
  • Luxembourg
  • England
  • Switzerland
  • Cyprus
  • Morocco
  • Tunisia
  • Algeria
  • South Africa
  • Czech Republic
  • Canada: Ontario, Okanagan
  • Michigan
  • New York: Hudson Valley, Finger Lakes
  • Arizona
  • Washington
  • Oregon
  • California: Ramona Valley, El Dorado,
  • Colorado
  • New Mexico
  • Mexico: Valle de Guadalupe
  • Argentina: Mendoza, Patagonia, Catamarca, Jujuy, Salta
  • Brazil
  • Chile: Elqui Valley, Limarí Valley, Choapa Valley, Maipo Valley, the Rapel Valley, the Curicó Valley, Colchagua, and the Maule Valley
  • New Zealand: Waiheke Island, Wellington/Wairarapa, Martinborough, Nelson, Waitaki River Basin, Central Otago, Marlborough, West Melton, Banks Peninsula and Rolleston
  • Australia: Southern Fleurieu, Adelaide Hills,Barossa Valley, Clare Valley, Coonawarra, Eden Valley, Langhorne Creek, McLaren Vale, Padthaway, Riverland, Wrattonbully, Alpine Valleys, Beechworth, Goulburn Valley, Grampians, Heathcote, Henty, Mornington Peninsula, Pyrenees, Rutherglen, Strathbogie, Yarra Valley, King Valley, Hunter Valley, Mudgee, Orange, Riverina, New England, Southern Highlands, Shoalhaven Coas, Greater Perth, Perth Hills, Peel, Swan Valley, South Western Australia, Blackwood Valley, Geographe, Great Southern, Albany
  • Denmark, Frankland River, Mount Barker, Porongurup, Manjimup, Margaret River, Pemberton,
  • Tamar Valley
  • China
  • India
  • Austria
  • Portugal: Vinhos Verdes, Porto, Dão, Bairrada, Bairrada, Colares, Carcavelos, Alentejo, Setúbal, Algarve, Tejo, Madeira
  • France: Alsace, Beaujolais, Bordeaux, Burgundy, Champagne, Corsica, Jura, Languedoc-Roussillon, Loire, Provence, Rhône, Sud-Ouest
  • Spain: Condado de Huelva, Jerez-Xeres-Sherry, Málaga, Manzanilla Sanlúcar de Barrameda, Montilla-Moriles, Sierras de Málaga, Calatayud, Campo de Borja, Cariñena,
  • Somontano, Arlanza, Arribes, Bierzo, Cigales, Ribera del Duero, Rueda, Tierra de León
  • Tierra del Vino de Zamora, Toro, Almansa, Jumilla, La Mancha, Manchuela, Méntrida, Mondéjar
  • Ribera del Júcar, Uclés, Valdepeñas, Catalunya, Conca de Barberà, Costers del Segre, Empordà, Montsant, Penedès, Pla de Bages, Priorat, Tarragona, Terra Alta, Alicante, Utiel-Requena, Valencia, Vinos de Madrid, Ribeira Sacra, Ribeiro, Valdeorras, Monterrei, Txacolí de Bizcaia, Txacolí de Getaria, Txacolí de Álava and Rioja
  • Italy: Aosta Valley, Piemonte, Liguria, Lombardia, Trentino-Alto Adige/Südtirol, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Veneto, Emilia-Romagna, Tuscany
  • Marche, Umbria, Lazio, Abruzzo, Molise, Campania, Basilicata, Apulia, Calabria, Sicilia, Sardinia
  • Greece
  • Rep of Macedonia
  • Bulgaria
  • Romania
  • Moldova
  • Germany: Nahe, Rheingau, Ahr, Franconia, Mittelrhein, Mosel, Pfalz, Hessische Bergstraße, Rheinhessen, Saxony, Württemberg, Saale-Unstrut

While this may seem like every wine region in the world and to a certain extent it is–but the aim for diversity in my wine reviews will come via the written plan I have created and to forge to that path. Still so much more to discover in the wonderful world of wines.

Please point me in the direction or contact me if you have wines you can provide to me as a sample—the only wines I won’t review is private label wines.

And Thank you!

¡Salud!

http://www.jamesthewineguy.com

***

Demystifying Wine…One Bottle at a Time from all wine regions around the world.

Read more of my wine reviews:

© 2012 James Meléndez / Jaime Patricio Meléndez / James the Wine Guy— All Rights Reserved. James the Wine Guy also on Facebook, Twitter and most major social medias.

Follow, subscribe, like, browse:             

About James Melendez

I have two blogs on this descriptor page--I use to be able to make separate. My fragrance blog is to express my thoughts on fragrance. A passion in addition to wine. I think it is a stellar component to the senses and that which I am in love with. I hope you like both blogs. My "wine" blog also incorporates those categories intimately involved - wine, food, travel and lifestyle. We all need food and water to survive but we need wine to nourish our soul. My favourite varietals are Pinot Noir, Nebbiolo, Grenache, Syrah-Shiraz.. for my red wines. And I often circle back to these varieties and sometimes they are my home varieties. The journey of wine is an historical footnote also marked by viti-viniculture and artistry that makes this beverage a living one. I have worked professionally in the wine trade and have loved all aspects; marketing, history, science and art of wine. © 2014 James Meléndez / James the Wine Guy— All Rights Reserved – for my original Content, logo, brand name, rating, rating graphic and award and designs of James the Wine Guy. James the Wine Guy also on Facebook, Twitter and most major social medias.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

