Wine Events – A Few Success Points – James Meléndez / James the Wine Guy

I attend many wine events every year. I always enjoy tasting the latest vintages, new labels, wines that I have not tasted and wine regions that don’t have a wine distribution path.  And as I always attend I wonder how do people remember what they tasted?  My goal is to taste at least one wine from each table.  That is a tall order especially when there are few hours and a large exhibit hall filled with winery representatives.  I notice that I am one of the few with my iPad ready to take notes.  Some people bring pen and paper but many more bring neither.   There are marketing materials and an occasional exchange of business cards.

There are so many wine labels and I think the chief goal of many brands is to be remembered.  I do think there are many ways to create ways to remember and receive awareness of wines, brands and labels.

I think the following tools can be helpful:

  • QR Code(s) – wine brand, label, specific wines – reduces paper that some people may or may not take–easily accessible for later recall
  • Softcopy programs – makes writing quick and easy to publish online – which can make for immediate upload to one or many social medias
  • A Media / Trade tasting – a section of an event space where trade and media can taste with easy access and so that they can get immediate tasting for reviews, write ups.  It can be hard when media and / or trade needs to taste as much as possible and may miss that opportunity to taste something they want to write up or buy

¡Salud!

***

Demystifying Wine…One Bottle at a Time from all wine regions around the world.

Read more of my wine reviews:

© 2011 James Meléndez / Jaime Patricio Meléndez — All Rights Reserved. James the Wine Guy also on Facebook, Twitter and most major social medias.

Follow, subscribe, like, browse       

Leave a Reply

