#WBC11 – Monticello Reception and Tasting – James Meléndez / James the Wine Guy

It is amazing how nearly a month ago was the Wine Bloggers Conference 2011 in Charlottesville and how it sill lingers in my thoughts and palette.

The Monticello reception was a wonderful event and I do count myself as lucky to have been part of this experience.  How many people get to experience fresh and local Virginia food with the Commonwealth’s wines while at Monticello?  I could guess and say very few.  The reception on July 22 was very hot and humid and I can say the organisers worked extremely hard for well done reception.

I unfortunately had to consume a vast quantity of water to replace the vast sum that I was loosing.  I wish I could have enjoyed more wines– I only enjoyed about 4-5 wines.  I have never gone to any wine tasting and had so few.  So here is a list of wines I did not get to enjoy but have on my must try list:

  • 8 Chains Sauvignon Blanc  2008
  • 8 Chains Furnace Mountain Red Reserve 2008
  • Ankida Ridge Chardonnay 2010
  • Ankida Ridge Pinot Noir 2010
  • Annefield Viognier 2010
  • Annefield Cabernet Franc 2010
  • Aspendale Hildersham (Sauvginon Blanc) 2010
  • Aspendale Rocawalkin (Cabernet Sauvignon) 2008
  • Barrel Oak Stainless Steel Resesrve 2009
  • Barrel Oak Reserve Petit Verdot 2008
  • Barren Ridge Tinkling Spring 2009 (Vidal Blanc, Viognier, Traminette, Chardonnay and Riesling)
  • Barrel Ridge Meritage 2008
  • Blenheim Viognier 2010
  • Blenheim Cabernet Sauvignon 2009
  • Byrd Cellars Muscat 2009
  • Byrd Cellars Dahlgren’s Raid Red
  • Cardinal Point A6 (Chardonnay and Viognier) 2010
  • Cardinal Point Union (Petit Verdot, Cabernet Sauvignon and Tannat) 2009
  • Catocin Vidal Blanc 2010
  • Catocin Syrah 2009
  • Chateau Morrisette Viognier 2009
  • Chateau Morrisette Cabernet Franc 2009
  • Chuch Creek Chardonnay 2009
  • Chrysalis Viognier 2010
  • Chrysalis Norton Locksley Reserve 2008
  • Cooper Viognier 2010
  • Cooper Reserve Norton 2008
  • Fabbioli Something White (Traminette and Vidal Blanc) 2010
  • Fabbioli Tannat 2009
  • Flying Fox Viognier 2010
  • Flying Fox Petit Verdot 2008
  • Gadino Viognier  2010
  • Glass House Viognier 2010
  • Glass House C-villian (Chambourcin, Merlot and Cabernet Franc) 2010
  • King Family Viognier 2010
  • King Family Meritage 2009
  • Mountfair Engagement (Merlot, Cabernet Franc, Petit Verdot)
  • Pippin Farm Viognier 2010
  • Pippin Farm Winemaker’s Red Blend (Chambourcin and Cabernet Franc) 2010
  • Potomac Point Reserve Viognier 2010
  • Potomac Point Reserve Heritage (Merlot, Cabernet Franc, Cabernet Sauvingon, and Petit Verdot) 2009
  • Prince Michel of Virginia Symbius (Merlot, Cabernet Franc, Cabernet Sauvingon and Petit Verdot) 2008
  • Stinson Sauvignon Blanc 2010
  • Stinson Cabernet Franc 2010
  • West Wind Farm Pinot Grigio 2010
  • West Wind Farm Cabernet Sauvignon 2009
  • White Hall Viognier 2010
  • White Hall Petit Verdot 2009

And isn’t it amazing to see how an event like Wine Bloggers (#WBC11) lives way beyond it’s official dates?

¡Salud!

***

Demystifying Wine…One Bottle at a Time from all wine regions around the world.

Read more of my wine reviews:

© 2011 James Meléndez / Jaime Patricio Meléndez — All Rights Reserved. James the Wine Guy also on Facebook, Twitter and most major social medias.

Follow, subscribe, like, browse       

About James Melendez

I have two blogs on this descriptor page--I use to be able to make separate. My fragrance blog is to express my thoughts on fragrance. A passion in addition to wine. I think it is a stellar component to the senses and that which I am in love with. I hope you like both blogs. My "wine" blog also incorporates those categories intimately involved - wine, food, travel and lifestyle. We all need food and water to survive but we need wine to nourish our soul. My favourite varietals are Pinot Noir, Nebbiolo, Grenache, Syrah-Shiraz.. for my red wines. And I often circle back to these varieties and sometimes they are my home varieties. The journey of wine is an historical footnote also marked by viti-viniculture and artistry that makes this beverage a living one. I have worked professionally in the wine trade and have loved all aspects; marketing, history, science and art of wine. © 2014 James Meléndez / James the Wine Guy— All Rights Reserved – for my original Content, logo, brand name, rating, rating graphic and award and designs of James the Wine Guy. James the Wine Guy also on Facebook, Twitter and most major social medias.
This entry was posted in #WBC, Virginia. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

