Fairview Cellars Okanagan Cabernet Franc – 2007 – 9.0 – James Meléndez / James the Wine Guy

9.0

The saying “so close yet so far away” applies to Okanagan.  I am West Coast based and yet Okanagan might as well be a continent or two away… I have never seen a bottle of non-dessert Okanagan wine anywhere in California or anywhere in the U.S.

I went to Virginia and went to Wine Bloggers Conference in Charlottesville to taste wines from places near and far.  I was so glad to run into this person and it was simply a chance meeting.  If I had not been in the right place at the right time I would have missed this opportunity.

I don’t think wine even from the most distant or even close wine regions should be difficult to locate.  Perhaps as more people talk about wines from Okanagan that we will find in California one day.

This wine exhibits notes of Montmorency cherry, hint of black plum, pepper, vanilla and Thyme.

¡Salud!

***

Demystifying Wine…One Bottle at a Time from all wine regions around the world.

Read more of my wine reviews:

© 2011 James Meléndez / Jaime Patricio Meléndez — All Rights Reserved. James the Wine Guy also on Facebook, Twitter and most major social medias.

Follow me:

Comments

2 Comments so far. Leave a comment below.
  1. Hey James-
    The person who poured for you was me and yes your timing was good. I’m happy to have popped your Monmorency cherry on BC table wines. There will be more next year as 2013 approaches.
    Cheers!

  2. Richard Hayes,

    Nothing wrong with keeping the best of Canada a secret. More for me!
    The french keep there best wines at home. Granted probably for the rich.

Leave a Reply

