Rocca dei Mori Rosso Salento Negroamaro – 2006 – 8.7 – James Meléndez / James the Wine Guy

This wine exhibits plenty of bright acids; accented with Turkish figs, chocolate, allspice, ground clove and bramble.

***

A plethora of wine reviews from wines regions around the world. Read more of my wine reviews: jamesthewineguy.wordpress.com © 2009 James Meléndez / Jaime Patricio Meléndez – All Rights Reserved.  James the Wine Guy also on Facebook, Twitter and most major social medias.

See James the Wine Guy channel for videos on YouTube:

www.youtube.com/user/jamesthewineguy

Les Jamelles Vin de Pay Pinot Noir – 2007 – 8.7 – James Meléndez /James the Wine Guy

This Pinot Noir is medium body superbly low on alcohol 12.5% and presents with subtle black cherry, Heirloom tomato, rose petals, Crimini mushroom and cardamom.

***

A plethora of wine reviews from wines regions around the world. Read more of my wine reviews: jamesthewineguy.wordpress.com © 2009 James Meléndez / Jaime Patricio Meléndez – All Rights Reserved.  James the Wine Guy also on Facebook, Twitter and most major social medias.

See James the Wine Guy channel for videos on YouTube:

www.youtube.com/user/jamesthewineguy

Santa Ines Winery California Cabernet Franc – 2006 – 8.0 – Meléndez / Jaimes the Wine Guy

After last weeks great find, I go from a high to a disappointment.

Last week I was astounded by the value and wine that I hoped to find again this week.  Last week I found Santa Ynez Valley Winery Santa Inez Valley Cabernet Franc 2006–went to traders and I picked up the Santa Ines Winery California Cabernet Franc 2006.  I thought I had made a mis-spelling in my first entry but I was correct.  What a difference a week makes.  Same logo, new name and different juice.

This Cabernet Franc is 13.2% alcohol content compared with last weeks 13.0% alcohol content.  And yes appellation does make a difference–this California wine compared with it’s more dignified Santa Ynez Valley is markedly different.  Not focused, this is very different juice even if there is a splash of Santa Ynez Valley juice in this bottle.  Lighter, less focused, and without the pack of herbaceousnes and spice.

I am disappointed because I had recommended to so many to give it a try.  I have put a full-stop on the California version and still in favor of the Santa Ynez Valley juice.   But I suspect that few if any of the SYV is still available.

***

A plethora of wine reviews from wines regions around the world. Read more of my wine reviews: jamesthewineguy.wordpress.com © 2009 James Meléndez / Jaime Patricio Meléndez – All Rights Reserved.  James the Wine Guy also on Facebook, Twitter and most major social medias.

See James the Wine Guy channel for videos on YouTube:

www.youtube.com/user/jamesthewineguy